Cook County Ordinances

With leadership from Arise Chicago and partner organizations, Cook County passed paid sick days and minimum wage ordinances in October 2016. Tragically, some municipalities voted to take these rights away in 2017. Arise led the defense of both ordinances in 2017. Beginning in 2018, and continued in 2019, Arise is organizing resident committees in a new wave of "opt-in" suburban organizing.

The following municipalities are covered by the Cook County Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage ordinances*:

  1. Barrington Hills
  2. Berwyn
  3. Countryside
  4. Deerfield
  5. Dolton
  6. Evanston
  7. Glencoe
  8. Kenilworth
  9. McCook
  10. Oak Park
  11. Oak Brook
  12. Phoenix
  13. Skokie
  14. University Park
  15. Western Springs
  16. Wilmette
  17. Winnetka

These municipalities opted out of one of the two ordinances.

  1. Cicero (Kept Earned Sick Leave)
  2. Glenview (Kept Earned Sick Leave)
  3. Northbrook (Kept Earned Sick Leave)
  4. Northfield (Kept Minimum Wage)

If your community is interested in launching an opt-in campaign to bring back worker protections, contact Arise Chicago.

*This list was compiled with information accessible to the best of our abilities as of June 2019 and should not be used as a legal reference. To confirm if a specific municipality is abiding by county law, please contact the local village hall.

Get Updates